top of page
Search

Book Review: Evelyn's Beau

Updated: Dec 26, 2022

Good Morning!


I would like to start this post off by saying that I was sent this book by A.M. Westerling to give my honest review.


Enjoy!

 

Book Information


Title: Evelyn's Beau

Author: A.M. Westerling

Publisher: Books We Love, LTD.

Publication Date: 2021

Edition: 1st

Pages: 186

ISBN: 978-0-2286-1794-5

 

After a disappointing Season, Lady Evelyn Kendall retreats to Kendall Hall in Cornwall. Her immediate future does not include a husband, although a renewed acquaintance with long-time family friend Oliver Harrington shows promise. When a local vicar offers her an opportunity to organize a Christmas pageant for disadvantaged children, Evelyn accepts, never thinking it would lead to disaster for both her and Oliver.


Lord Oliver Harrington has long harboured feelings for Evelyn, but dealing with an ailing father and a faltering estate leaves him little time to pursue his intention of seeking her hand in marriage. However, his plans to improve the family fortunes are disrupted when a thief strikes the Harrington holdings.

When Evelyn realizes who the thief is, will Oliver blame her? Or will the magic of mistletoe lead her into his arms?

 

Review


*I really tried not to spoil anything about this story but it is very hard considering it was just so good, and it is hard to rave about a book without telling a bit about the story.*



I absolutely loved this book. I really enjoyed seeing how Evelyn and Oliver's story started after seeing them in Sophie's Choice and Leah's Surrender.


The book starts off with a flashback to Oliver's 8th birthday, he say's to Evelyn that he is going to marry her and she walks off telling him that she is marrying her papa. Which is so funny to me because I think that even today this is something that kids would say. We then jump forward 15 years to Evelyn's first season in London. She is not having a good time and she desperately wants to return home to Cornwall. She goes to one last ball and sees Oliver again. He is intrigued by her and he goes and sees her the next day. That day her mother decides that they are leaving immediately the next morning due to what she calls Evelyn ruining herself. Oliver calls on Evelyn again in London only to be told that they have returned to Cornwall. Oliver returns to Cornwall where he continues to pursue Evelyn as well as trying to figure out who is stealing his livestock. Evelyn figures out who is stealing the livestock and forces them to apologise to Oliver. Things progress quickly for the couple after this and the story ends with a fast-forward to New Years when their children are older.


A quote that I loved from this book;

"Of course," he murmured. "However, to remain content, one must feed one's soul from time to time. Time spent on those activities is not time wasted." Oliver, Page 33.

I really tried not to spoil anything so if this review seems short or without detail I apologize. I hate when someone spoils a book for me so I really try and avoid doing that myself. I would have loved to read a full length story from these two but I thought it was really cool to have a Christmas story novella to add depth to The Ladies of Harrington House series. I can't wait to read the final book of The Ladies of Harrington House series; Catherine's Passion.

 

Have you read my other A.M. Westerling Book Reviews?


 

I look forward to reading Catherine's story. The review for that book will be up in the near future.

 

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page