top of page
Search

Barkerville Beginnings: Book Review

Updated: Dec 22, 2022

Before I begin I was sent this book for free to give my honest review.

 

Book Information

Title: Barkerville Beginnings: Canadian Historical Brides Book 4 British Columbia

Author: A.M. Westerling

Publisher: Book We Love LTD.

Publication Date: 2017

Edition: 1st

Pages: 321

ISBN: 978-1-77299-764-4

 

Faced with financial ruin and the loss of her good name, Rose Chadwick decides to make a new start for herself and her young daughter Hannah in the rough and tumble gold rush town of Barkerville, British Columbia. However, making a new life is not so easy when it’s built on lies. And, long suppressed emotions within her are stirred when she meets a handsome young Englishman.


Viscount Harrison St. John knows he’s expected to marry well to bolster his family fortunes. Instead, he leaves England to pursue riches in the gold fields of a frontier town in the far off wilds of Canada. Soured on love because of a betrayal by his former fiancé, Harrison resists the attraction he has for Rose. Particularly considering she appears to be a happily married woman with a daughter of her own.


Will dark secrets from Rose’s past keep them apart? Or will they find love, happiness and a new life together in the bustling town of Barkerville?

 

Review

First things first, I loved this book. Being a history buff I was skeptical about this book being able to capture the true essence of Barkerville but A.M. Westerling did just that. I go to Barkerville 3-4 times a year and was really hoping that this book would be able to take me back there. A.M. Westerling really brought history to life with this book.

To summarize the story. It is about a young mother named Rose Chadwick, she has a young daughter named Hannah and travels from Victoria to Barkerville to find a better life. She is running from her past which inevitably catches up with her but everything turns out good in the end. You also meet Viscount Harrison St. John when he is still in England and you follow him to Barkerville as well. Rose and Harrison's paths cross on the road to Barkerville. Harrison gives Rose and Hannah a ride to Cottonwood House. They then ride together to Barkerville where they go their separate ways. Eventually they reconnect and the story continues.

My favorite character by far is Rose because I found that she was what I wish to be. She is very strong willed and will do anything to do what she has set her heart on. I also really like her daughter because she isn't fearful and is willing to do anything to help her mother.

I would recommend this book to anyone that likes history. This book is able to string both history and romance together without compromising on the history aspect.

A.M. Westerling also includes a short excerpt about Barkerville which makes the story easier to imagine. Having done my own extensive research on Barkerville I was very happy with all that was included in the book as it is exactly as I have researched.

 

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you purchase this book I hope you love it as much as I did.

See you next time :)

 

35 views0 comments
bottom of page